Rest in Peace, Alex Sokol

Leave a comment

April 4, 2015 by steelcitymama

Alabama ForeverYesterday I learned the world lost an amazing guy, Alex Sokol.  I am shocked to learn of his passing and reminded that none of us know when our time will come.  At 38 years young, it just seems life was so overwhelming short for a guy that touched so many people. Though we had not been close recently, several years ago, I talked to Alex frequently.  After meeting me only once, he offered to meet me for lunch and help me on my job hunt.  He gave me 19 names of close friends and acquaintances that were in my field and personally reached out to each of them with an e-mail recommending they speak with me.  I could not believe how much time he spent helping someone he had just meet.  Through his recommendations, I had several interviews that all lead to job offers.  I felt so fortunate that our paths had crossed at just the right time for me, and I was so grateful for all his help. As I learned of his death last night, I searched for him in my news feed and read countless posts from other people that had similar stories where Alex had helped them too.  It is amazing to me how one person can show so much care for others and not ask for anything in return.  Seeing all of those stories reminded me of a quote I have always loved by Samuel Johnson: “The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.”  Alex genuinely cared for everyone he met, and if he could help them in some way, he offered his help. Alex was the co-founder of an amazing charity, Alabama Forever, that has worked on a number of projects in Alabama since its formation in 2011.  I know they will continue to do great things for our state.  To continue to thrive, they need support from the community.  Please visit their site to learn more about them and consider donating to this wonderful charity in honor of Alex.  My thoughts and prayers go out to his family, friends, and all the people he touched along the way.  We will all miss you, Alex!

Leave a Reply

